In Focus

The Department of Internal Medicine is deeply appreciative of the many extraordinary contributions made by its staff employees on a daily basis. Beginning in FY15, in an effort to formally acknowledge those contributions, annual Awards for Excellence have been awared to staff who embody the values reflected in the department’s Guiding Principles for Service Excellence - integrity, empathy and professionalism.

CBSSM's Center Manager Valerie Kahn and Research Associate Knoll Larkin were recognized for their hard work and contributions to the department. Congratulations!

CBSSM News & Events

Beth Tarini study found that more than half of parents want to know disease risks for selves & kids
Beth Tarini is the senior author of a study in Public Health Genomics that found that more than half of parents want to know disease risks for selves & kids. In addition, 85% of parents had identical interest in finding out this information for themselves and their children.
Read more.
Reshma Jagsi interviewed about new study surrounding breast cancer patients' desire for genetic testing 04/10/2015
The study found that 35 percent of women with breast cancer expressed a strong desire for genetic testing, but 43 percent of those women did not have a relevant discussion with a healthcare professional.
Read more.
PIHCD Working Group: Michael McKee 05/06/2015
Michael McKee will be speaking about a grant proposal to help elucidate how stigmatization in health care affects the quality of health care and access to care among Deaf American Sign Language (AS
Read more.