You are here

CBSSM's Director, Reshma Jagsi, MD, DPhil was recently honored as LEAD 2020 Woman Oncologist of the Year. This award honors a senior professional who is a respected individual in her field and who has modeled excellence in leadership.

In a recent Journal of General Internal Medicine article, Rod Hayward and CBSSM's Tanner Caverly review the strong evidence indicating a need, in the primary care context, for a shared decision making (SDM) approach that takes less time than current more detailed SDM models. They offer a compromise proposal called "everyday SDM" for PCPs who value the goals of SDM, but find they are not engaging in SDM because of limited time.

Research Topics: 

Congratulations to CBSSM's Matthew Corriere, for his recent appointment as Vice Chair for Inpatient Care Alignment for Michigan Surgery. Your focus on the optimization of clinical operations for both patients and surgeons will be instrumental in the strategy and implementation of important new programs!

CBSSM Director, Dr. Reshma Jagsi, is one of three to receive the 2020-21 Carol Hollenshead Inspire Award for Excellence in Promoting Equity and Social Change from CEW+. Dr. Jagsi will present a talk entitled, “Promoting Gender Equity in the Professions: Insights from Academic Medicine” at the virtual CEW+ Advocacy Symposium Kick-off Event on September 10, 2020.

Research Topics: 

CBSSM's Dr. Susan Goold was appointed to the AcademyHealth Education Council Executive Committee for three years. She will help develop strategies and programs for professional development in health services research.